How to Undo in Adobe Illustrator 2022

how to undo and redo in Illustrator

Adobe Illustrator, which was released in 1987, is one of many Adobe advances that revolutionized graphic design.[1]https://www.britannica.com/technology/Adobe-Illustrator It is a powerful design tool that allows you to create vector illustrations and graphics.

However, as with any graphic design software, it’s fun to play around with the tools and try things out. There are also times you may not be pleased with what you’ve created.

Sometimes you just want to revert content that’s been created before.

In this tutorial, we will show you how to undo Adobe Illustrator with and without keyboard shortcuts. We will also cover various undo options. Such as, how to use the Version History Panel to restore previous versions of your artwork.

How many times can you undo in Adobe Illustrator

You may be wondering what would be the default number of undos you can do in total.

First, go to the Illustrator menu at the top corner of the page and click on Illustrator.

Then, scroll to Preferences in the drop-down menu to open another drop-down menu.

How many undos can you make in Adobe Illustrator

Click Performance and go to the section that says “Others” in the popped up window.

You will see the subsection Undo Counts and in the selection box beside it, you can select 50, 100 or 200 counts. This means if you were to select 200, you have up to 200 times to reach your last undo command.

However, the higher undo counts you go, the more memory is required and may impact the performance of the software. 100 undo counts should be sufficient.

How to undo your last action

To do this, simply use press Command Z (Mac OS users) or Control Z (Windows users). This keyboard shortcut key will undo your last action, but this is not the only option.

You can also go to Edit menu and click the Undo button to achieve the same result.

If you undo once, you will undo the latest action and your artwork reverts to the previous version, one step before the latest one. Undo another previous action by repeating the same command using the keyboard shortcut or going to the undo menu to undo the next action.

How to undo action using Edit menu in Adobe Illustrator

You can undo up to the desired number of undoing counts you’ve set in the Preferences section. The amount of undos could be 50, 100 or 200 undo times.

How to undo selected actions even after closing the file

The undo function is great within the same file. But once you close the file and reopen it, you won’t have access to previous changes anymore.

One way is to keep saving files into different versions. In case you need previous artwork, you can use back the last saved files.

If we don’t do that, a lot of time and effort is required to recreate it later if we have overridden a previous artwork after saving the file.

The good news is that Illustrator has the Version History Panel. It allows you to recover the past versions you have saved before in the same file. There’s no need for you to be afraid of losing the past versions. There’s also no need to save multiple files in your folders.

Unlike Adobe Photoshop, the Version History Panel in Illustrator works differently.

If you want to access the Version History Panel in Adobe Illustrator, you have to save your file in the Creative Cloud and not your hard drive.

How to save Illustrator file in Creative Cloud

With your new file, go to the top menu, click File and go to Save As in the drop-down menu. Then, click on the button that says “Save to Creative Cloud”.

How to save Adobe Illustrator file to Creative Cloud

How to undo selected actions using the Version History Panel

Now that your file is in Creative Cloud, you will be able to use the Version History Panel to save all action steps and file versions.

How to open Version History Panel in Adobe Illustrator

To access the Version History Panel, go to the top menu and click Window.

Then, scroll down the drop-down menu and click on Version History.

This opens up the Version History Panel that shows all actions you’ve done and saved.

If your Version History Panel is empty or doesn’t show any actions even after making changes, this means your file is not saved in the Creative Cloud. Do save it in Creative Cloud first before working on your artwork.

The Version History Panel does not list every action by default if each action is not saved. In other words, it only lists them if you have saved each of the actions.

In Photoshop, the History Panel does not save a version of the closed file. This means if you close a file with or without saving it and reopen it later, you will see an empty History Panel without the previous versions done in the same file.

As for Illustrator, as long as you save every action, you can close the saved file, reopen the same file and still see the list of saved actions made previously in the Version History Panel.

💡 Do remember to save every action you make, because only saved actions are saved and seen in the Version History Panel. It’s only if you save the step, you are able to undo it by clicking on that step you’ve made and saved previously.

To revert to a previous version of your artwork, simply click on the action you want to undo. This will restore your artwork to the state it was in before you made that change.

In this case, if you were to close the file and open it tomorrow, you’ll still be able to see the previous versions in the Version History Panel and revert to any of them.

How to redo an action

Now that you have learned a few ways to undo your last change or series of recent changes, there are times you’d like to go back to the previous artwork you’ve done before. You may wish to reverse an undo action, or redo an action.

There are two ways to redo an action.

How to redo an action method 1

Go to the top menu, click Edit.

Then, scroll down and click on the redo button.

How to redo in Adobe Illustrator

Or, you can use the keyboard shortcut by pressing Shift key with Command Z (Mac OS users) or Shift Control Z (Windows users)

Even after saving your file with the last changes using the save command, you are still able to use the above undo settings to the artwork you had last time.

How to redo an action method 2

You can do this with the revert function in Adobe Illustrator.

This method brings you back to the original first saved version and this cannot be undone.

We hope this tutorial has helped you learn how to undo in Adobe Illustrator with and without keyboard shortcuts for both Windows and Mac users. Remember, practice makes perfect! The more you use Illustrator, the better you’ll become at using its various features and tools. Thanks for reading!

Featured image from: Online illustrations by Storyset

References

References
1 https://www.britannica.com/technology/Adobe-Illustrator

Like this design tutorial? Here's more!👇

Get design tutorials like this at least twice a month

You are invited to join our newsletter to get more design tips and resources.
Shopify CTA

Get weekly email with best design tips for free.